Posted in The Mom Blog

Taking care of Self – My “I am human” Post

Something new I’m going to try here. I guess it’s kind of a challenge for myself, first and foremost, but if you want to join in you’re more than welcome!

Taking care of myself has to hands-down be the biggest thing that I struggle with. I am very much an introvert (which means the fact that I’m sitting here writing this right now is a HUGE struggle for me, because it’s me showing you my vulnerabilities…) so it makes it difficult for me to allow others to lend a helping hand. This in turn means that I tend to take things on myself and not allow others into my bubble- feelings, thoughts, emotions, even physical well-being issues are things that I tend to keep to myself.

Today was a very low point for me. It started out ok, but as I was taking my kids back to meet with my ex-husband, things started to take a southern turn. I began to dwell on those things that I have been terribly unhappy with, and in turn I was in a very bad place by the time I got to work this afternoon. I continued my day like that until a friend of mine came into the shop having an panic attack, similar to those I’ve been dealing with for many years. After trying to help pull this friend out of their negativity bubble, I realized that things go a lot easier when you open up to someone. 

Now, for a lot of people, this means going to a therapist, or counselor, or psychiatrist, or even a psychologist. And while those people are well-trained to help out in these situations, I feel it does you no good if you don’t have the support of the people around you as well. So, I have decided to make myself a list. (You’ll notice as time goes by that I’m very much a list maker. It tends to keep my thoughts in better order so I can see things more clearly…)

This list, as you will see, includes three different sections. One for physical health, one for mental health, and one for emotional health. While the last two tend to be somewhat similar, in my mind they equate to two completely separate sections. Under each section there is a list of “goals” that I want to try to accomplish. Now, that being said, I feel that only focusing on one section at a time while neglecting the others is no a wise option, so I will be working on different parts of each section every day! (This DOES mean that there will be more lists in the future!) At the bottom of this goal sheet, I have put a phrase that reminds me that things are forever changing.

screenshot-1

So, if you choose to join in on this challenge with me, here are the rules.

  1. Make a list of those things that you are struggling most with in your life.
  2. Break down each thing on that list into the Physical, Mental, or Emotional categories.
  3. Share your list. (*Note* You do NOT have to share it here if you feel uncomfortable doing so! Share your list with someone you trust.)
  4. If you’re comfortable with doing so, keep me posted on how you’re doing!

I’d love to hear from you on the strides that you are making with overcoming your obstacles!

So, are you up for the challenge?

 

 

(Please note, I am not a certified physical or mental health care professional, so the thoughts and opinions that I have posted here are solely mine. If you are experiencing thoughts of suicide or self-harm, or are experiencing other major health issues, PLEASE contact your care giver or the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255 or visit their site at http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/. These people are trained professionals and are available to talk to you 24 hours a day. And always, ALWAYS, consult your doctor before beginning any treatment or regimen outside of those prescribed for you!)

Author:

I am just another person trying to make their way in a strange and unforgiving world.

Leave a Reply

