Posted in The Mom Blog

Muddy handprints

As I’m laying on my bed right now trying to prepare myself for another long night at work, I find myself thinking about my kids. My fiancée got somewhat upset that our 6 year old left a muddy handprint on our bedroom window a little while back. As I look at it now though, I’m reminded of something my mom said to me a few years ago. 

“Enjoy it while it lasts.” 
My kids won’t be little for long. Just look at my 12 year old son. Every day, the opportunity to play with them and teach them gets smaller and smaller, and soon enough they’ll be on their own, attempting to navigate the world.

I don’t want to wait until the last minute to be a part of their lives. I don’t want to be so consumed by work or household chores or family politics that I fail to see them actually grow. I want to be their guide, their inspiration, their rock. I want to show them that life may not always be easy, but it’s worth it. I want to look back, at the end of the day, and know that my kids know I love them and am happy to have them in my life.

So yes, it may be a muddy handprint on my window, but it’s also a sign that life was lived and joy was had. 

What types of things encourage you to evaluate your participation in your kids lives?

Author:

I am just another person trying to make their way in a strange and unforgiving world.

Leave a Reply

