Posted in The Mom Blog

Even in the dark, there is light…

My 9 and 8 year-olds were talking to me tonight about their father and I, and why we split up. In fact, my 9 year-old was in tears. Mind you, their father and I have been separated for almost 8 years and divorced for just over a year and a half.

Both he and I have tried explaining to them on several occasions that due to our personal animosity towards each other, we felt it best to part ways for their sakes, however our younger two children do not understand this.

And so, as I spoke to my girls tonight, I explained to them that everyone comes into your life for a reason, but not all of them are meant to stay, and that sometimes people grow so differently from each other that their relationship no longer is what is best for them.

At the end of our conversation, I left my girls with the following phrase, and told them to seek me out when they understand it’s meaning. I told them,

“Even in the dark, there is light.”

While I don’t expect them to understand this for many years, I have faith that once they grasp the meaning, they will begin to see the world so much differently than they do now.

However, I have to ask myself, how many people truly understand the meaning of this phrase? What do you think it means?

Author:

I am just another person trying to make their way in a strange and unforgiving world.

Leave a Reply

